Thread: Where to start building your rig.

Default Where to start building your rig.

This might be a terrible stab at acquiring information but here goes nothing. I have a '95 2-door xj with a manual transmission and a 3 or so inch pro comp lift sitting on 31 10.50 tires. I bought it a couple months ago. I'm new to wheelin' but I want to build my rig up to a streetable yet fairly burley wheeler. This will be a one-step-at-a-time process over the years due to financial constraints. So the question is: WHERE DO I START!?! What is the best move to improve my wheelin ability while also preparing for the future. I realize it wouldn't behoove me to slap an exo on it but beyond that I'm rather lost. I talked with my local shop and they were helpful but every question answered led to two more questions. For example: Do I lock up my dana 35 or do I save that money for a locker for a 44 or an 8.8 that is an inevitable upgrade but still a ways out? Do I eliminate my c-clips so I don't get stuck in the boonies if I break an axle? Do I put a winch on it? Do I trim the fender for some 33s or 35s? Do I brace the steering? I just don't know what is most important and helpful. Any help would be great. Or feel free to to tell me to figure it out for myself. I'll understand. Thanks.

Default Re: Where to start building your rig.

i put a locker in my 35 1st thing and i havent had 1 problem with it yet sooo. i have 31s on my xj and i do use it

I'll just tell you what I think, and others can weigh in with their thoughts.

In Houston my two primary concerns are high water and mud. Really more of a clay. So when I think how can I improve my Jeep's ability, well it's to get it higher.

I started researching what height lift kits were available, and found that due to a design issue with the Cherokee to go 4.5, or higher you needed to resolve a poor design, at least when changing the suspension geometry.