PDA

View Full Version : Question about the clutch fan

Indiana Jeep
01-16-2012, 03:57 PM
Not sure if this would fit in here or in the OEM section. I have never worked on the clutch fan before so I am not sure wich of these is correct. I came across a video on youtube (Jeep Cherokee XJ Fan Clutch Check and Serpentine Belt Tension Check - YouTube) when I was checking for the proper tension on the serpentine belt. He says that if you can turn the fan easily the clutch is bad. I couldn't find the other source but I remember reading somewhere that the clutch fan should turn freely when the engine is cold. I checked mine and it turns but not very easy. I didn't mess with it much because I didn't want to screw it up. It definitely does not turn as easily as the one in the video. So finally my question is what is a good way to check to see if the fan clutch is going bad? I should mention that I have no overheating issues whatsoever. I rarely go over 55 and have not had any problems with the needle going past the middle (my mind is blanking out on the number) of the temp gauge. It wavers sometimes but pretty much stays in the same spot upon reaching operating temp.

Mudderoy
01-16-2012, 04:24 PM