PDA

View Full Version : Welder Maintance

dagr8tim
10-17-2011, 10:14 AM
Hey guys, quick question. I'm by no means an expert and I'm just learning so forgive me if this is kinda dumb.

Sat I went to use my 110 wire welder for the first time in afew months. I know I've not been religious on cleaning it, but that's changed. Anyways, I discovered that the copper tip where the wire comes out seems to be welded to the wire. I was able to cut the wire in the welder, unscrew the tip and pull it out.

Lucky, I had a spare tip. But my question is can I save this tip? Is there a way to get the wire unstuck so I can clean the tip and keep it as a spare?

4.3LXJ
10-17-2011, 10:17 AM
You might be able to, but that is why those tips unscrew. What you did is not have enough wire speed and it burned up the wire to the tip.

bigjim350
10-17-2011, 11:20 AM
I would either use a hand file on it or bump it against a grinder to get it loose then use a tip cleaner on it.

dagr8tim
10-17-2011, 11:58 AM
Thanks guys, I think I'm just going to buy a pack of tips to keep around for spares and just call that one a wash. Doesn't seem worth my effort.

Firemanray
10-17-2011, 02:53 PM
I have a jar of some kind of "goop" you dip your whole nozzle in, it keeps "spatter" off of the gas cup and keeps the tip from sticking like you described. I'll have to look next time I'm at the shop and see what it's called. As far as un-sticking the wire I use a pair of side cutters to grip the tiny little piece sticking out if the tip and twist and pull. If I can't get a grip on it I bump it against the grinder.

dagr8tim
10-17-2011, 03:26 PM
I just priced the tips, and I don't think it's worth my time. Thanks guys.

If I get bored sometime, I may try to fix it.

xjrev10
10-23-2011, 05:32 AM
I just priced the tips, and I don't think it's worth my time. Thanks guys.

If I get bored sometime, I may try to fix it.