PDA

View Full Version : Question about Lifting my jeep

xjeepx
08-27-2011, 11:43 PM
Hello i have a 1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport and i want to put a 4" Lift in it. I've been looking online for lift kits, and for lift kits from the stickied thread on this sight. I am new to this and have one question: If i buy a lift kit, will i need to buy rear leaf springs, or is that usually included with the kit? I've heard from people that the lift kit takes care of the front, and the rear, while from others that it only takes care of the front. Any information will he helpful. And if you know a cheap, but good 4" lift kit and know where to purchase it would you please let me know, Thanks.

bigjim350
08-28-2011, 01:12 AM
The 4" and 4.5" lifts usually come with either new leaf spring packs or add-a-leafs for the rear. If you have the money you will be much happier with the new leaf packs. The add-a-leafs tend to sag over time. The 4.5" Rough Country x-series is a very complete kit at a very good price. You can either get it from them directly or from a few of the vendors here.

JENSSEN
08-28-2011, 02:24 AM
Regardless of what lift kit you want now height or brand buy the next stage up size wise,.. Save yourself the money it's addictive

JeepinOutfitters
08-28-2011, 08:43 AM
The 4" and 4.5" lifts usually come with either new leaf spring packs or add-a-leafs for the rear. If you have the money you will be much happier with the new leaf packs. The add-a-leafs tend to sag over time. The 4.5" Rough Country x-series is a very complete kit at a very good price. You can either get it from them directly or from a few of the vendors here.

X2.

Kits that only take care of the front are usually called Leveling Kits, and they're usually only for trucks, since they often sit tail high from the factory. The JK has a bit of a rake too so there are leveling kits for it, but even those usually also include rear coil spacers.