PDA

View Full Version : Welcome Eff Rod!!!

BlueXJ
08-01-2011, 01:41 AM
Hi Eff Rod, welcome to the xjtalk forum!

We would love to know more about you and your Jeep. How you found us, etc...

Check out "Announcements" "How to post an image" for help posting images.

Listen/watch to the Jeep Cherokee xjtalk.com show! Live on Wed. 8pm CT! Also available on iTunes!

bluedragon436
08-01-2011, 02:11 AM
:welcome: to xjtalk from Delaware/Maryland!!

Eff Rod
08-01-2011, 02:12 AM
Hi everyone. Im Eff Rod. Im a Chef, single dad and new Jeep owner/lover as of a week ago.

I have already given blood sweat and tears to my Jeep.
Its a red 97 with a 4.0L. I don't know much else about it since I'm new to the Jeep world. I have been a Ford Truck guy for the past 10 yrs. I have had about 6 F150/F250's and a 1948 F-1.
I have always wanted this Jeep and I'm glad I finally have it. I saw it on craigslist for 1200 and walked er, drove away with it for 850. The guy thought the A/C was bad but I learned about the vacuum line under the battery and taped the hole with electrical tape for now. The "engine is shot" was resolved with a new starter (installed at the previous owner's home in about 5 minutes so that I could drive away...still feel bad for the dude for that one, a little lol)

I have repaired a crack in the radiator with JB Weld, replaced the water pump, thermostat(with a 180 degree thermostat), serpentine belt, hoses etc.

Plans are to completely overhaul the interior. I have already started to clean the water stained carpet, remove paint from vinyl (still working on that one), replace the headliner, install a decent audio system, a new overhead console with better lighting anda sunglasses case/holder thingy swiped from another Jeep or perhaps an explorer or expedition.

Currently panicking about the oil filter being stuck and me running out of options. Tried a blade, a screwdriver and now need a bigger filter wrench. hopefully that does it. advice is greatly appreciated.