PDA

View Full Version : Missing Hose near air intake?

sjo
06-29-2011, 01:56 PM
Hi guys,
I'm very new to finding my way around under the hood, so i'm hoping one of the experts can help me. I have a 2000 classic 4L. I have a port on what i believe is the intake manifold, directly below the throttle body, which does not have a hose attached to it. If I put my thumb over it, the engine stalls. I assume that there should be a hose on this running somewhere, but where does it go? A picture is worth a thousand words, so hopefully the attached picture clarifies what I'm talking about. As you can see there are three ports, but the one on the far left is wide open. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Cheers
-Sam

sjo
06-29-2011, 02:20 PM
Thanks to Mudderoy for showing me the ropes re: posting pics. Here is what was talking about ...

http://i1225.photobucket.com/albums/ee386/soliver1973/Jeep/JeepMissingHose.jpg

xj4life2
06-29-2011, 02:22 PM
Sounds like it could be the MAP sensor line, it should run back to the firewall to the sensor itself. If I could see a pic I could positively identify it

Mudderoy
06-29-2011, 02:22 PM
Sounds like it could be the MAP sensor line, it should run back to the firewall to the sensor itself. If I could see a pic I could positively identify it

This is a 2000 (97+) the MAP is on the throttle body isn't it?

Mudderoy
06-29-2011, 02:24 PM
Get a rubber cap, yours fell off...

:link: (http://www.cherokeeforum.com/f2/vacuum-hoses-2000-intake-manifold-49696/)

sjo
06-29-2011, 02:29 PM
Hmmm ... last night I put my finger over that hole and it caused the engine to stall. I'll try again - if it's supposed to be capped, but capping it causes the engine to stall, any ideas?

xj4life2
06-29-2011, 03:44 PM
This is a 2000 (97+) the MAP is on the throttle body isn't it?

your right had the year wrong, and your also right about the cap at least according to my emissions diagram forthat vehicle.

4.3LXJ
06-29-2011, 03:52 PM