PDA

View Full Version : Alternative to the Lift Kit

Mudderoy
03-17-2011, 12:51 AM
When I first went to lift my Jeep I had no idea what all would be involved. Many concepts were foreign to me, after several years now and being in, on and under my Jeep I feel more comfortable with how things go together and what needs to happen for a successful lift.

I'm no expert though. Buying a lift kit was a no brainer back when I first wanted to lift my Jeep. Seeing the steps I went from there to where I am today, well I would have done it a little different.

Minimal Lift Kit.

4.5" RC coil springs
4.5" RC leaf springs
Ironman4x4fab.com Adjustable Lower Control Arms
Ironman4x4fab.com Adjustable Track Bar
RC Drop Pitman Arm
Stainless Steel Braided Extended Brake Lines
4" to 8" Shocks (your choice of brand)

Chances would be good that you could find a pair of RC 4.5" coils near new and cheap since people like upgrading to 6.5" lifts.

The transfer case drop is just 1" hard rubber spacers, and longer bolts.

After this I would get...

Ironman4x4fab.com tie rod with tie rod ends
Ironman4x4fab.com adjustable upper control arms

Replace the drag link with a new one just to be safe. I got a MOOG for about $90.

DirtBoundOffroad.com has a very inexpensive SYE solution that I'm looking closely at. For the 97+ XJ's it's $110 and a front drive shaft from a junk yard, or you can get a HD drive shaft from DirtBoundOffroad.com.

I really like the Rough Country stuff, but after seeing, feeling and using the Ironman4x4fab.com stuff, I have no doubt it's about 1000% more bad a$$.

Rough Country has engineered their product to be light and strong, Andy just engineered his to be STRONG! :D

If you are sure you'll be going to long arms, hands down I would get Ironman4x4fab.com. I'll be going to that someday, just gonna be awhile before I can afford it. Right now I'm very secure in my Ironman4x4fab UCAs and LCAs.

Mudderoy
03-17-2011, 11:11 AM