PDA

View Full Version : Need Some Advice on a Engine Knock

wad_e
03-08-2011, 08:00 PM
hey guys, i just bought my 3rd xj, it has a knock in the engine. i figured maybe a broken rocker arm, or lifter, or something in the top end. after having two mechanics look at it, they both seem to think its in the bottom end. one said a piston, the other said sounded more like a rod to him. its a 2001, 4.0, 4wd, auto with 140k miles, what would you guys do? ive checked a few diy junk yards and i can probably get another engine for around 200 bucks. should i pull my engine, tear it down, and rebuild it, or should i go pull one from another jeep and take a chance on a $200 junkyard motor that comes with a 30 day warranty? im not a master mechanic but im pretty good with my hands, and have access to the tools one would need to get my jeep back on the road.

bigjim350
03-08-2011, 08:54 PM
First thing I would check is the bolts holding the torque converter to the flywheel. Also check for cracks in the flywheel. Its a pretty common XJ problem, mine did it and sounded like a rod knock. If thats good, I would just use a JY motor and rebuild your old one over time as a backup motor.

BigJeepBigJeep
03-08-2011, 08:59 PM
Is the "knocking sound" a low dull thump or more of a higher tap?

To designate the cylinder with the problem, with the motor off, pull a spark plug wire then start the engine. Do that to each wire individually until the problem lessens quite a bit/goes away.

Or you can do a leakdown test. :D

wad_e
03-08-2011, 10:18 PM
it is a higher tapping sound, thats why i thought top end. how do i do the spark plug wire check when i have coil packs? and to the torque converter/flywheel bolts, will it do it even when im not moving? i would love for it to only be something like that!

Mudderoy
03-09-2011, 06:13 AM