PDA

View Full Version : change rear leafs in 6 hours?

Switch_knuckles
02-15-2011, 09:16 AM
I have about 6 hours to change my rear leaf springs. I am planning on using all new bolts. This is my first time changing them out. I am using hand tools no impacts. Can it be done? Your thoughts please.

4.3LXJ
02-15-2011, 09:19 AM
Plenty of time if you have good car stands and a floor jack and no major rust issues. I could do it in two hours easy with hand tools, but I have done it a lot.

steph74
02-15-2011, 09:20 AM
if you don;t run into problems (rusted bolt, broken bolt.....) I believe it can be done.... I have done mine in 1 day but I am slow and don;t have air tools.....

rguignard
02-15-2011, 09:20 AM
yes well maybe ? cut the u bolts with a sawsall and hope the spring hanger bolts come out without braking the nuts loose

Mudderoy
02-15-2011, 09:25 AM
Murphy's law states that if you have a deadline the job will require at least 1 hour longer than said deadline.

Switch_knuckles
02-15-2011, 09:29 AM
Thanks for the reminder, but that is really not what I needed to hear!!

Switch_knuckles
02-15-2011, 09:31 AM
Oh yeah and one more thing, the spring hanger bolts, can I get those at autoparts store or should I go to hardware store. And if so what size. Again Thanks alot guys!!!!

Mudderoy
02-15-2011, 09:32 AM
Thanks for the reminder, but that is really not what I needed to hear!!

lol I can't let you go into something blindly. You'd never forgive me!

steph74
02-15-2011, 09:34 AM
I got mine at O'reilly.... they were on sale I got them for $5 a pair.... they were way too long so I had to cut them a bit
As for the size ????? can't remember

Yeah you have to expect the unexpected just so that you are not disappointed.....
Hopefully you have sprayed your bolts and stuff with PB blaster regularly for a couple of days before that will help (didn't say that it will make it smoothless though)

LizardRunner
02-15-2011, 10:39 AM