PDA

View Full Version : Bumper Build Question

chuck2000xj
01-04-2011, 02:42 PM
Ok....so i have NO experience welding. I have a neighbor that introduced himself to me a few weeks ago and we were talking about building bumpers for our jeeps. He said he would help me build one. I have been searching for a design that I really liked. I found this one by Hanson. http://www.hansonoffroad.com/proddetail.php?prod=JXJ1202-P Now because of my lack of knowledge my question is what size sheet metal should I use to be strong enough but not weigh a ton? Thanks guys!!:patriot:

XJ4IV
01-04-2011, 02:45 PM
3/16 is plenty strong and light enough for XJ's... have a looksey at mine that I built
http://i372.photobucket.com/albums/oo167/seivey/8696b043.jpg

XJ4IV
01-04-2011, 02:47 PM
quick ammendment I used 1/4 inch angle iron for the portion that mounts TO the bumper... I have NEVER had an issue with it and I can hang my jeep in a tree... Ive had to do it to change a tire out once

chuck2000xj
01-04-2011, 02:51 PM
Thats exactly what I'm looking for. I love it man. I was gonna try to start figuring out how much all this was going to cost. I like the fog lights mounted in there.

LizardRunner
01-05-2011, 03:37 PM
cardboard is great for making patterns and using as a test fit. .25 is good for where you really want the strength, like your mounts. I agree on the 3/16 everywhere else, no need to just ad weight unless it is going to also add function.

chuck2000xj
01-05-2011, 04:04 PM
cardboard is great for making patterns and using as a test fit. .25 is good for where you really want the strength, like your mounts. I agree on the 3/16 everywhere else, no need to just ad weight unless it is going to also add function.

Thanks for the advice as well man.

LizardRunner
01-06-2011, 12:50 PM
Your welcome.