PDA

View Full Version : greasing

steph74
11-29-2010, 02:09 PM
I was just wondering if there is a proper way to grease....
I have never done that before so I just assumed you just have to fit the "nipple" with your grease gun and pump until grease start oozing from somewhere.
Is that the best way ? If not what is the recommended / proper / most used way to do it.

May sound like a silly question, but when I did this last time, it popped the grease / dust boot (tie-rod end) and I am not sure this is supposed to happen.

Any advice ?

Mudderoy
11-29-2010, 02:35 PM
I was just wondering if there is a proper way to grease....
I have never done that before so I just assumed you just have to fit the "nipple" with your grease gun and pump until grease start oozing from somewhere.
Is that the best way ? If not what is the recommended / proper / most used way to do it.

May sound like a silly question, but when I did this last time, it popped the grease / dust boot (tie-rod end) and I am not sure this is supposed to happen.

Any advice ?

I've done this too, but I've never actually KNOWN what the right way to do it is. Good question!

bigjim350
11-29-2010, 02:47 PM
Thats the way I have always done it.

msmoorenburg
11-29-2010, 02:57 PM
I usually go till I see the boot move.

steph74
11-29-2010, 02:58 PM
this is the intuitive way I agree but is that the right way ? lol

So and what about the other parts that don;t have boot ? Like calipers and U-joints... stop when it start getting out ?
I am not too concerned, I just got puzzled for a minute and now I want to know lol

I guess the question is how much you pump in....
I have read the "snorkel thread" where someone said that you basically chase the water from bearings and stuff

Firemanray
11-29-2010, 03:37 PM
After I go mudd'n I pump grease until I see clean grease coming out. Helps purge the gunk out of the joint.

4.3LXJ
11-29-2010, 07:16 PM