PDA

View Full Version : Lift Question

da9r00d
11-05-2010, 04:14 AM
i have a 1988 Jeep XJ, i have a set of 2004 Rubicon Wheels and Tires that i wanna run on my jeep. my question is what is a good lift kit/height? i was going to run a 3" lift. what will i need? Transfer case drop? also i was looking at the rough country 3" kit with New leaf springs. not sure if the kit comes with U-bolts or a brake line extension. do i need that stuff? i also have a D35 now but i have a rebuilt 8.25 sitting and i wanna run that rear end. trying to swap it in at the same time at the lift.

im just trying to find out the stuff/tools/extras ill need to install and run everything.

Im new to the jeep world, I love my jeep but its been a nightmare to get it to run right. fixed now after $1100 worth of parts and labor

steph74
11-05-2010, 09:57 AM
I don;t know much but this is what I gather... please correct if I am wrong...

for lift 3"or less it is most likely you won't need a drop or any further mods other than longer shocks. Longer brake lines are sometimes recommended but if you are not doing extreme wheeling then you probably can go without

what size are your new wheels and tires ?

bluedragon436
11-05-2010, 11:20 AM
Well I would say if you are going to spend a little bit of money pick up the 4.5" RC kit... but as far as just running a 3" lift, you should be good with just new shocks, the TC drop and brake line extensions are usually for 4" and up... although some people do experience driveline vibrations at lift heights as low as 3".. but that is something you won't know until it happens... and the brake lines is something you can upgrade when you do your lift... or you could upgrade them at a later date.. as far as the upgrading to the CH8.25... that is a good time to do so.. and most of the lifts come with teh U-bolts for both the D35 adn the CH 8.25, so you would have the parts to do your swap while you are installing the lift...

Mudderoy
11-05-2010, 11:21 AM