View Full Version : getting a welder

jeepmedic
01-26-2010, 01:36 AM
Well i want to get a welder so i can build some things in my heep. but i am not sure what kind to go with i have little experience w each kind so i know how to do it, but metals, thickness, and what to use them on has got me stumped. any who i will be doing mild things putting in new floor, and building safty hoops, and brackets for front and rear bucket seats. which would be the best kind of welder?? feedback is great i want to know what you guys think between a flux wire, a mig, and an arc welder!!

4.3LXJ
01-26-2010, 02:06 AM
If you are going to work on your floor and frame, get a MIG. They are the best for that kind of thing. It takes a lot of experience to do that kind of work with a stick. Flux wire is OK, but why beat the slag off all the time if you don't have to.

rguignard
01-26-2010, 06:28 AM
mig it can weld anything but a broken heart :thumbsup:

tbone
01-26-2010, 09:14 AM
Most migs are set up to use gas or flux core, can't go wrong there. :thumbsup:

alwaysxj
01-26-2010, 12:54 PM
i have a mig with flux core right now that i will convert over to gas hear soon. i love it i have made bumpers and sliders with it with no problems.

cheap jeep
01-26-2010, 06:20 PM
I have been a production welder in 2 factories for a combined total of 35yrs. Find out how thick of steel the welder will work on in the instructions,usually 1/4 steel is thick enough unless you are planning on building something really heavy,like a trailer or something.I'm talking about a mig.

BlueXJ
01-27-2010, 02:12 AM
I have a Lincoln stick welder for real heavy stuff and a Miller 180 with gas for the standard stuff. Never learned ti TIG.

Melissa
01-27-2010, 02:49 AM
I say go for a wire feed welder, miller sp 250 or miller sp 175 :thumbsup:

I have them both, fantastic welders :patriot:

rguignard
01-27-2010, 06:20 AM
I say go for a wire feed welder, miller sp 250 or miller sp 175 :thumbsup: