PDA

View Full Version : my first jeep

XJNEWB
01-04-2010, 01:22 AM
alright, this is my first post. i am in the market for my first jeep. xjs have always appealed to my taste and i need some help getting my first. ive read a lot about the different years and need some input from some experienced owners. first; my bugget:thumbdown:, i would love a 2001 with 5k miles, but thats not realistic. i know i can find an older one for under a 1000 dollars as there are many. i would like to know what to look for when i go to look at one. i am a mechanic so i know all the basics and i know a little about what engine i like being the 4.0, but different trannies/gears, axels, prone rust spots, vacuum accuated transfer cases vs later models, and other problem areas i am not familiar with. i know the HO motor came in 91and later xj's, but is it worth the extra cost? any help is appreciated. this will be primarily a family car and a daily driver with the hopes of a weekend warrior, my plans are to lift it 3 inches, throw 31s on it, put some mud on it, and take my kids to daycare:D. i would like help choosing the right jeep for my needs. thanks in advance.

Mudderoy
01-04-2010, 01:46 AM