PDA

View Full Version : Concerned about oil pressure

efosterw
07-27-2017, 03:18 PM
My 96 XJ's pressure is 40 at idle and 60-75 when driving. Oil pressure is supposed to go down when driving, right? What would cause it to be high? I'm learning about such mechanical stuff - newbie here.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

abebehrmann
07-27-2017, 04:08 PM
My 96 XJ's pressure is 40 at idle and 60-75 when driving. Oil pressure is supposed to go down when driving, right? What would cause it to be high? I'm learning about such mechanical stuff - newbie here.

No need for concern. That's pretty good oil pressure. It's normal for the oil pressure to go up when you're on the gas, both of my 4.0L's are pretty much the same.

efosterw
07-27-2017, 04:28 PM
No need for concern. That's pretty good oil pressure. It's normal for the oil pressure to go up when you're on the gas, both of my 4.0L's are pretty much the same.

Thanks! I'm figuring out what "normal" is for my XJ. I really appreciate your feedback on my posts.

bluedragon436
07-28-2017, 11:03 AM
Yeah, it can be sometimes a bit nerve racking to see the pressure moving around quite a bit.. I went out on the trail @ a local Jeep club's property a few months back, and while running I happen to look down to check my coolant temps, and noticed the oil pressure was quite a bit down.. I was pretty worried about it, but once we started moving again it came back up and then fluctuated up where it normally is during day to day operation with stop and go traffic..

denverd1
07-31-2017, 03:01 PM
you have good pressure. More RPM = higher pressure, oil pump is directly connected to the cam.

pressure sending unit are common failures on these. so DO NOT get alarmed when you're out driving around and buzzer goes off and you have no pressure. Mine seemed to slowly fade before it stopped working.

Tbone289
08-07-2017, 09:21 AM