PDA

View Full Version : It's finally time!

Baseless
05-19-2016, 01:43 PM
Hello, all! Okay, so my first year of college is finally over, and I now have a job to support my Jeep! First, here are the issues that need to be addressed (yes, I know I have posted about some of them before, and yes, I know about google), and my thoughts about them.

Issue #1: Now, I'm no professional engineer (yet), but I'm preeeeetty sure that a leaf spring isn't supposed to have a negative arc to it... Both of mine do. Another problem that I have been hearing is a whoooole lot of movement from out back whenever I hit a big bump with any kind of speed (20+), and she'll try to step out sideways at times (could this possibly be caused by the drive shaft for any reason? It hasn't been properly serviced in a while...). I'm thinking an all-inclusive lift kit would be a better idea than stock replacements, but what would you guys recommend? I've been shopping around for a kit, and Rough Country seems to have the best deal at the moment, but a friend of mine recently got a Skyjacker kit for his '97 and completely swears by it.

Issue #2: Rust. The hood has divets in it from the time it spent parked out in the woods, the passenger side rocker panel is withering away to nothing, and there are two pretty big holes in the drivers side footwell. Best way to fix? I know basic sheetmetal, but I mean is there any particular way you'd go about it?