PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - help figure out issues, starting problems, exhaust leak, carburetor

mkawski
04-02-2016, 08:33 PM
I have a 2.5L 4 cylinder 1985 Cherokee
Been having lots of problems, posted a while ago but didn't get the issues resolved. Maybe someone can help me diagnose and fix these issues, I'm really trying to avoid taking it to a shop because I don't have all the money right now and would love to learn how to fix things on my own anyways.
So far the things I have fixed myself (with some help) are:

replaced clutch master cylinder and bled system(2 person bleed)
replaced serpentine belt
replaced water pump, fan clutch
flushed cooling system, had tap water in before and was all junked up
put in a new transmission bell housing cover plate
attempted to bleed brakes on own, not sure if it worked 100%??

Just for comparison, so you know my experience with cars. This is my first car, so I'm pretty new to it all and figuring things out. Please try to avoid slang if possible, and over-explain rather than under-explain. I also have a hard time finding parts, so if you could also point out locations that would be great. Appreciate the help!!

So here are the issues:

1. starting problems - once in a while the Jeep won't start at all, usually after I drove it a short distance. the engine turning over sound will gradually get slower and slower (battery dying probably with each attempt?). The first time this happened I parked my car in a lot for 4 hours, came back, it started fine. The second time (yesterday), I couldn't leave it for that long so I just had to get it towed.
I'm guessing this is the carburetor not being adjusted, and flooding? I don't know too much about this, correct me if I'm way off.