PDA

View Full Version : Need help with minor coolant leak and temp gauge

mfran12335
03-01-2016, 07:51 PM
I have a 2000 xj sport sport and two questions. I had the coolant system flushed a few months ago when inspected.

When leaving work I noticed a small spot of coolant in the parking lot today at front driver side corner. Coolant level is okay for now. Didn't get a real good look yet but looks like it could be coming from the larger hose into the driver side of the radiator or a smaller hose below it. What is the smaller hose going to? Any suggestions what to do or look for?

Also the temperature gauge was dropping to about 160 today and ride back up to 210 randomly on my drive home today. Bad coolant sensor?

Could the two issues be related? I'm new to working on the jeep but I want to try to diagonosis it myself.

Carves
03-01-2016, 07:59 PM
Varying temp display is probably just the connector not sitting firmly on the temp sensor.

Make sure the contacts are clean and secure ... and its all fragile so be gentle.

re the leak ...

Check that the hose clamp is tight.

Check that the nut on the smaller line is tight.

Tight ... not neanderthal tight .. ;);) .. :D

Cheromaniac
03-02-2016, 04:09 AM
I have a 2000 xj sport sport and two questions. I had the coolant system flushed a few months ago when inspected.

When leaving work I noticed a small spot of coolant in the parking lot today at front driver side corner. Coolant level is okay for now. Didn't get a real good look yet but looks like it could be coming from the larger hose into the driver side of the radiator or a smaller hose below it. What is the smaller hose going to? Any suggestions what to do or look for?

Also the temperature gauge was dropping to about 160 today and right back up to 210 randomly on my drive home today. Bad coolant sensor?

Could the two issues be related? I'm new to working on the jeep but I want to try to diagnose it myself.