PDA

View Full Version : Adjustable ball joints?!?

justanotherjeeplover
02-17-2016, 05:55 PM
Hey guys any input would be appreciated! So I took my 88 xj 3.5 inch lift 31 inch tires to get aligned cause the tires were wearing weird. And they did the alignment it feels alot better but he told me I need adjustable ball joints. Now my problem is do I need adjustable ball joints or just new ones. Like I don't know how long it's been since they were changed. Ill post the picture of the alignment specs before and after that they gave me. Thank you for any input.http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/16/02/17/84f9a84e24df3f766d150ca5b791ac17.jpg
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/16/02/17/1af1fefea881a553825a8900c2146263.jpg

justanotherjeeplover
02-17-2016, 05:57 PM
And he's saying left front need to be adjusted 1 degree and right front need to be adjusted 4 degrees. That just doesn't seem right.

prerunner1982
02-17-2016, 06:08 PM
Im no expert... but adjustable control arms may fix some of this? It would definitely fix the caster, which may in turn fix the camber.

My theory.. and it may be totally wrong... Im assuming you have stock arms, when you lifted it the front axle is rotated nose down as evident by the caster being -4.X. Since the upper ball joints are also rotated a bit forward the reading that the machine is seeing for camber is not exactly in the same vertical plane as the ball joints. With the axle being rotated nose down and the tires being toe in the "top" of the tire will be slightly more outward than the bottom.

justanotherjeeplover
02-17-2016, 06:21 PM
Oh okay. I see what what you mean. I'm not sure either. I do need adjustable control arms. And the caster is a positive number it reads red cause it's not within spec.

prerunner1982
02-17-2016, 06:26 PM
And the caster is a positive number it reads red cause it's not within spec.