PDA

View Full Version : New chapter

OrangeXJ
08-29-2015, 01:07 PM
As some of you know and some don't I've been working in the oil and gas service industry for the last 25+ years. The service industry is driven by the price of the all mighty barrel of oil. Well the price of oil is extremely low now. Good for the consumer bad for the service industry. Depending on who you listen to lay offs in this industry have been between 105k-200k people. The company I use to work for ( we will get to that in a minute ) has laid off around 20k this year with more to come. I worked in the offshore side of the business where last year when the price of oil stayed around $100 per bbl compared to now in the $40 dollar a bbl range. I worked around 200 days offshore. So far this year I've been offshore 3 times for about 60 days. I've been through several of these slumps in the price of oil. I've been laid off before and it sucks. So this go round I'm beating them to the punch. Friday the 28th was my last day working for a oil and gas service co. and quit before they had a chance to lay me off. ( it was going to happen sooner or later ). So before I quit I bought this while I had a job

http://i335.photobucket.com/albums/m470/GregKnowles/001_zpslzs1ci0n.jpg (http://s335.photobucket.com/user/GregKnowles/media/001_zpslzs1ci0n.jpg.html)

A good friend of mine for 20+ years owns a Hotshot service co in the Houston area and told me if I got a truck she would put me to work.

It's a 2003 Isuzu NPR 18ft. flatbed with a 4 cyl turbo diesel with 200k on the clock. For its age it's in great shape. Mechanically and cosmetic wise. So I'm going from looking at water all day to pavement. Plus side I will be home every night. Down side is having to put up with Houston traffic. Hopefully you won't see me on the news for a road rage story.

Wish me luck

Mudderoy
08-29-2015, 01:21 PM