PDA

View Full Version : Strange clinking noise when turning wheels...

sbspence
07-18-2015, 09:55 PM
I'm about to pull my hair out over this!

I've been tracking this noise for the last two years! I've been through two complete suspensions trying to track this down. The first to replace the 13yo stock suspension, was the Rough Country 3" with a rear AAL including shocks and steering stabilizer. I also added an RE track bar and draglink. I had a three local shops check the steering gear box for noise where it attaches to unibody, and the track bar mount both are good according to all. I was also having steering issues that the last shop was sure was due to the 3" lift and my low pinion front...so I bought and entirely new stock system and had him install it along with new monroe shocks, and and both front axle joints. Now everything is new in the suspension the axle joints, and ball joint on driver side have been replaced and I'm still having a "pop", clink noise on occasion when sawing the steering wheel. :bang:

I crawled under tonight and inspected everything AGAIN and could find nothing obvious or loose even with a little persuasion. I then had my son fire it up and saw the wheel while I watched underneath. Again nothing BUT this time I just happened to have my left hand on the driver side bumper guard and when it made a noise I could feel it! It would seem to me that this is coming from the gearbox or SOMETHING in that area!

If anyone has ANY ideas to track this down once and for all and fix it I would be eternally grateful! :pray:

my specs...
01 LTD auto
stock susp, 235/75/16 tires on Icon rims. 160k mi and various other replacements mentioned above.

4.3LXJ
07-18-2015, 10:50 PM
Did anyone check the steering box area on the frame for cracks. It is sort of common to get a crack there.

nickyg
07-19-2015, 01:29 AM