PDA

View Full Version : My Grand Adventure: Episode 1

trailchasers
07-09-2015, 11:43 PM
My Grand Adventure

Episode 01:
Introduction
Hey guys, This is Cody with trailchasers.net. Tony, Josh, and Tammy put out a call for listeners that wanted to participate with the new Grand Cherokee section of the podcast, so I threw my hat in the ring.
Before I start, here is a little bit about me:
I have been wheeling for 22 years and have owned many Jeeps
2-CJ-7's
3-XJ's
1-MJ (Comanche Pickup)
1-TJ
And I now own a 2001 Grand Cherokee WJ

While I owned the TJ, I always wanted to get back in to a wagon. I love the body style and I felt that the previous XJ's I owned were the perfect off road vehicles. The longer wheelbase, 4-doors, cargo space, front coil/rear leaf suspension, and the perfectly powered 4.0 engine made it the swiss army knife for all of my adventures. And, to be honest, I don't care about taking the top off of my vehicle anymore. It was fun when I was younger, but now I am old and I want some GOD DAMN COMFORT! I know that's not cool to say with the Wrangler crowd, but I live in the desert. People think that all of California is by the beach, but no, the poor people live in the desert. That's where I am. Where we wheel, it is hot and dusty. I am tired of melting my forehead off and ending the day with mud in my teeth. I want to roll up the windows, turn on the AC, and cruise in leather seated comfort. That's what happens when you get old. If I had an extra $50k sitting around, I would gladly go purchase a beautiful new JKU, but see me previous comments about being broke and living in the desert. So if I was going to sell the TJ and get another unibody Jeep, I had to make it work within my budget. With that said, I really thought I would be back in an XJ.

Why I chose the Grand Cherokee
As I searched for my new family off road vehicle, I found that there were two types of XJ's on the market: