PDA

View Full Version : Speedometer correction, the easy way!

OldFaurt
06-23-2015, 08:03 PM
OK, So this guy at work got me all worked up over Arduino stuff and since I needed some "EASY" speedo calibration, I got to bustin some code and low & behold,
I got a working model! I want to embed full opto isolation in & out to make it bullet proof but the code works! Since I am a PCB Design Engineer, it is not only going to be pretty, but easy as well. Now I am working on a mod so you can crank a knob to set it against your GPS! Bring your rig up to "GPS" speed, then crank the knob to match, YOUR DONE!
It will work from stopped to OMG! and can be adjusted for tire wear & will also fix odometer at the same time. If it fails flip 1 switch and it is stock!
Anybody interested?

4.3LXJ
06-23-2015, 08:07 PM
I am sure you will have some takers. I assume it is OBDII only. What would it run?

bluedragon436
06-23-2015, 08:21 PM
seems like a fun way to incorporate the Arduino into the XJ!! I think I'll just stick with the speedometer gear swap.. I don't think my XJ likes having add electronic upgrades very much..

Carves
06-23-2015, 08:59 PM
Simple plug in, stand alone item ?? .... or integrated into the labyrinth of dubious, chrysler electrics ??

Keen to see what you come up with .. :popcorn:

Brasscatz
06-23-2015, 09:01 PM
interested :)

nickyg
06-24-2015, 12:36 AM
Here's my easy speedo calibration check.

1. Firmly press the gas pedal to the floor.
2. Count to 50432. That's 70 MPH.

3. Firmly press the brake pedal to the floor.
4. Count to 50432 That's 0 MPH.

OldFaurt
06-24-2015, 06:11 PM
I am sure you will have some takers. I assume it is OBDII only. What would it run?

No, it hooks up between the speed sensor on the transfer case and cable, corrects the pulse rate. it corrects the odometer, Speedometer and also effects AW4 shifting as this signal also goes to the Controller.

OldFaurt
06-24-2015, 06:15 PM