PDA

View Full Version : Jeep Noob Here: Need advice on Ebay Auction

JeepNoob
03-20-2015, 02:02 PM
Jeep Cherokee Sport 4 0L No Reserve | eBay

So this one is making me drool but there are a few things I have learned to look out for on northeast coast cars.

Car is FROM long island all the way through Hurricane Sandy. That storm wrecked countless vehicles that were then put into the used car market. Dangerous buys. It was sold 9 months after Sandy in June of 2013 to someone in Pennsylvania. 20,000 miles went on it and then it went up for auction and I guess this dealership in Maryland bought it.

My suspicion is this is a salt water damaged vehicle in disguise. The dates on the Carfax line up with exactly what they tell you to avoid but I want to hear your opinion. Does the undercarriage look painted over? You see anything odd?

There is also no reserve on this and I would think that this interior/exterior combo with that low of miles would be up there on ebay.

Any help would be great!!!!

4.3LXJ
03-20-2015, 02:20 PM
I think what I would recommend on this one is to request pics of the frame rails and if possible floor boards. If they won't send you some, forget it even though it looks nice in the pic

XJ Wheeler
03-20-2015, 02:28 PM
Good advice^ Otherwise it does look good. Although being an '00 it probably has the 0331 head. Its not a deal breaker but a point against it.

Do you ever plan to lift the Cherokee you buy?

Sent via messenger pigeon - i talk, he types.

abebehrmann
03-20-2015, 03:06 PM