PDA

View Full Version : A/C delete?? help new member!

Dchurchill91
10-24-2014, 10:46 AM
my compressor is seizing. I need some help. what do I do? I read one thread that said you can use an idler pully in place of the a/c compressor.. part number?? also new belt length? im a newbie so please be very descriptive ahah

NW99XJ
10-24-2014, 11:12 AM
Here's the part you'd be looking for... (shop around to get the best price)
summit Racing has it for just under $30.00
This would give you the ability to retain the stock belt length.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/rnb-34171?seid=srese1&gclid=CNHS7OXWxcECFY17fgod7AEAMA

http://static.summitracing.com/global/images/prod/xlarge/RNB-34171_IK_xl.jpg

Dchurchill91
10-24-2014, 11:22 AM
Here's the part you'd be looking for... (shop around to get the best price)
summit Racing has it for just under $30.00
This would give you the ability to retain the stock belt length.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/rnb-34171?seid=srese1&gclid=CNHS7OXWxcECFY17fgod7AEAMA

http://static.summitracing.com/global/images/prod/xlarge/RNB-34171_IK_xl.jpg

sir, you are the balls and the shaft. thank you very very much

NW99XJ
10-24-2014, 11:56 AM
Glad to help out.
Hopefully this solves your dilemma...
Be sure to post up some before and after pics when your done.

Also... take a look at the "Air Gap" ... this is the space between the clutch plates, and can occasionally fill up with rust/corrosion/or grime, and can lead to compressor lock up... or at least the pulley anyways. I don't have the measurements off hand, but its an easy enough procedure from what I remember... might be able to get your compressor back up and running without having to remove it/ evacuate the system, or spend money on a part you may or may not need.
All it entails is cleaning things up with a file/steel wool/Scotchbrite/etc...
and of course some minor disassembly/reassembly... which I believe can all be done with the compressor still in the vehicle.

JeepFreak