PDA

View Full Version : Uh oh

Tobyspaw
08-08-2014, 07:54 PM
2001 cherokee has no guages working tonight and the motor sounds different.It was fine yesterday morning. What could have happened in 36 hours just sitting. Im new to the jeep and hope someone knows a possible cause.

Tobyspaw
08-08-2014, 08:49 PM
Forgot to add its a 4.0 automatic 4x4,140,000 miles.

4.3LXJ
08-08-2014, 09:11 PM
These Jeeps, both XJs and TJs have bad connections in the dash. If you smack the dash a good one the gauges will probably work again. Honest

Tobyspaw
08-08-2014, 09:13 PM
Ok..I did the 1 thru 10 countdown holding the trip meter button in and all guages are working now. Thats great.But, why did this need to be done. Is this going to happen again? I think the engine noise problem was because i just spent 2 days in my much quieter car.

4.3LXJ
08-08-2014, 09:15 PM
Yes, some imagination there probably. Yes, it may happen again. As I said, it is common in OBII Jeeps. You can remove the gauge cluster and clean all contacts if you want

XJ Wheeler
08-08-2014, 09:44 PM
Sounds like your hamster forgot to clock in before he got on the wheel.

:D

Sent via messenger pigeon - i talk, he types.

Brasscatz
08-08-2014, 10:09 PM
Sounds like your hamster forgot to clock in before he got on the wheel.

:D

:smiley-laughing021:

Tobyspaw
08-09-2014, 03:43 AM
I will clean those contacts.Thanks 4.3LXJ.

Tobyspaw
08-09-2014, 03:42 PM
No bus is now on. Havent cleaned contacts yet.May replace bulbs while in there. OK to put dielectric grease on pins when cleaned up?

4.3LXJ
08-09-2014, 07:30 PM
I wouldn't put it on the large plug. It might allow power bleed between contacts

abebehrmann
08-10-2014, 11:00 AM
Very easy to pull the gauges out to clean the contacts. All you need is a Philips screwdriver.

Tobyspaw
08-11-2014, 09:42 PM
Update..still havent cleaned contacts yet.Busy with work. Will report back with results. You guys are great,appreciate the help.

Pookapotamus
08-11-2014, 09:59 PM