PDA

View Full Version : Diesel conversions

XjJeepacorn
03-18-2014, 02:54 PM
Forgive me I haven't searched to far yet. I'm thinking about a diesel conversion in my next xj basically because I wanna make it run on vegtable oil. I know some do the cummins swap and others the mercadies swap. Have any of you done either swaps? Have any of you converted to veg oil? and if so do you have any build threads you can send me to?

Sent from my SGH-M919V using Tapatalk

abebehrmann
03-18-2014, 03:01 PM
I have no personal experience with this but I have done quite a bit of reading on it. I've read that the Cummins 4BT is quite a bit heavier than the 4.0L and might be too much for the unibody so the 5 cylinder Mercedes diesel or the TDI VW Diesel would be a better choice. As for the vegetable oil, if the temps outside are 40F or below you can have problems with the oil becoming too viscous for it to be pumped into the engine so a mix of diesel and vegetable oil or two tanks, one for diesel and one for vegetable oil, would work out better. Msmoorenburg is planning a swap of the MB diesel into an XJ so he or another member might be able to give you a bit more information. All of my information is from reading what others post on forums.

4.3LXJ
03-18-2014, 03:20 PM
Msmoorenberg is doing a Mercedes swap into an Xj I think as soon as he gets done with his Sunbeam project

UKJeeper
03-18-2014, 04:17 PM
Certain versions of the land Cruiser diesel engine are swappable into a Jeep.

4.3LXJ
03-18-2014, 04:21 PM
Haven't seen those here. But maybe there are a few around

Rocco83
03-18-2014, 06:40 PM
I plan on going the VW TDI diesel route soon as I take care of lift/tires and some other things.

drakan1908
03-18-2014, 08:25 PM