PDA

View Full Version : Front Axle Locker discussion

07Negative
03-15-2014, 01:13 PM
I'm bring up the discussion of locking the front differential. As I've been going along in my Dana 30/44 build. I've learned quite a bit. However I'm now having this battle with myself on choosing a locker. I know nothing other than the Detroit lockers. I have no experience with anything else.
And my limited knowledge on selectable lockers lean me to think more parts equals more potential problems.
I've had conversation with people I deem to be solid experienced folks. Not just internet doh doh's.
But I'm still torn. I will have manual locking hubs. I'm not lazy and don't mind getting out of my car. So street driving characteristics shouldn't be an issue. But can anyone vouch for how the offroad characteristics effect ones choice? I've never had a locked front diff.
From what I've gathered is that when in a tight spot of turning. The detroit locker can be challenge while steering your way through.
Which raises another questions. Hydro assist steering? Would this be of benefit to myself to consider?
My tire choice is 35" BFG KMII's. And doubt I'll go larger than a 35" tire on this Jeep.

4.3LXJ
03-15-2014, 01:45 PM