PDA

View Full Version : Jeepinspence here

sbspence
01-23-2014, 11:02 AM
:patriot:

Hello everyone! Stumbled across this site after listening to the XJ podcast on my phone. Idk if it's still being broadcast or not but I hope so it's nice to have an active community. Most of the sites I've tried so far aren't very active anymore it seems I'm always a day late and a dollar short. ;)

I'm new to XJs as an owner , but, I've wanted one ever since I rode in one in 1988(I'm still partial to the look of the lil Waggy too! I'm not new to Jeeps of 4x4s though I've been lifting and studying tires since the mid 80s...it's a closet obsession of mine...:headbag:

That brings up my conundrum that has me all cornfuzzled! My 01 is bone stock and I have $1,000 saved up to spend on it. It needs tires badly as it was a hwy department vehicle and it has 4 worn out snow tires on it that are helpless in the snow and loud and bumpy on the road!:bang:

I'm trying decide whether to throw a set of stock size tires on it until I can get a short lift and if so what size tire And lift. It's a DD so I DON'T want any vibes to chase down or a suspension that needs extra maintenance. I just want something I can throw on it and forget that performs as well or better than stock. i like the look of this months featured rig the tall but not TOO tall look with tallish narrow tires. I also need recovery points, and would eventually like front bumper and winch, and rear bumper and tire carrier, along with a roof rack. You know the "Functional Expedition" look?

Now if you had $1000 and a stock XJ with 150k on it and a clean body and interior what you spend your money on first?
All Ideas welcome!!! :)

PS Thanks for the board!

Spence<><

abebehrmann
01-23-2014, 11:14 AM
Oh yeah, this forum is still plenty active. Welcome aboard!