PDA

View Full Version : Jeep pulls to the right....

OverRockOffRoad
11-08-2013, 12:13 PM
Hey everyone I figured I would ask you all your thoughts on what could be the cause of my new XJ pulling to the right. Its a 94 XJ 4x4, auto, 4.0 with 121k.

I have given this thing a few pretty good shake downs and I was a Tech at 4WP for a while so I can usually pin point these things fairly quick but I am not having any luck with this one.

I have check the brakes they are brand new, the calipers seem to work fine, I drove it home almost 2 hours from my house when I bought it, the guy who sold it to me also drove 2 hours to meet me.

I replaced the track bar, I have checked the alignment, rotated the tires and the steering is tight. The CAs bushings could use some new ones but I am planning to lift it so I am holding off on that for a bit, they are still in decent shape and should be fine for a little bit.

The right front tire was rounded a while the others are all pretty flat. I have jacked it up and used a pry bar to check for play, the BJs seem okay but I am unsure about the hub bearing. My next step I am going to replace the hub bearings. I do hear a faint clunk sounds every so often from the right front. I can't hear any grinding sounds or anything like that.

With that said any thoughts? Maybe something I have not thought of, any input would be appreciated. Like I said my next step is to replace the hub bearing/hub assembly's.

4.3LXJ
11-08-2013, 03:07 PM
Joey, check the castor angle on both sides. I would be willing to bet there is a 1.5° difference. Early Jeeps came from the factory that way

XJ Wheeler
11-08-2013, 03:55 PM
Check for grooves from the pads on the knuckles. These have a common problem with wearing there and the pads could be hanging up. Although, i bet you would have found evidence of that already.

Sent via messenger pigeon - i talk, he types.

OverRockOffRoad
11-08-2013, 06:12 PM

Are these the grooves XJ Wheeler?