PDA

View Full Version : If you're into gardening

07Negative
09-01-2013, 01:41 PM
And you're somewhat close to Santa Rosa, CA. I highly encourage you to check out this expo. I went last 2 years. It'll seriously throw your hair back. Great for the family and great info if you're concerned about food security.
http://www.theheirloomexpo.com/conference/the-3rd-annual-heirloom-expo/

I was also thinking of starting a thread on gardening. I'm insanely passionate about food and genuinely concerned about our nations health. And if I can get just one person to grow a carrot religiously. Then I think I've done a good deed. I grew up on 650 acre farm in Minnesota and a 10 acre homestead in Iowa. I continue to grow and had turned my east Oakland ghetto into a chateau. I've been mentoring ex gang banger kids in verticulture for about 5 years. I also debunk the ideal you can't grow. Even if you only have a small space or almost all shaded yard/space.
I'm a soil science freak who reads books and practices practical techniques. I'm not a vegan but I do think b/c of proven science, that we need to reduce our meat intake and eat more veggies. And fewer processed foods. We can all
contribut to recipes that make eating more veggies more appealing to our taste buds. I'm sure we're all full of resources. Great thing for college folk too! Save your folks some coin and impress the chicks/dudes on your cooking skills. Chicks dig guys with skills.

bluedragon436
09-01-2013, 02:20 PM
I tried doing hanging tomatoes this past year... got the plants to grow nicely, but no tomatoes by the time I left for this deployment... I think I'll try again next year, just start them off earlier... and pepper plants..

07Negative
09-01-2013, 02:55 PM