PDA

View Full Version : 1995 XJ build... Newbie here!

2WDUnderachiever
07-04-2013, 08:59 AM
Not sure if this is in the right place, so forgive me if it's not... I'm new.

I've been driving a 2010 Nissan Versa for the last month... You have to floor it to get up a hill. I never want to deal with that again, so I've decided that when I get my jeep tagged and insured, a few mods will be in order. I'm not looking to build a stump-puller, just to get a nicer throttle response and a little extra torque.

-Larger (200cc per minute, probably) fuel injectors from a Dodge Neon.
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewitem?itemId=200902253193&cmd=VISPEC
-A bored out (63mm) throttle body.
http://strokedjeep.com/tbody.html
-A header.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/ATP-101212
-2.5" exhaust pipes.
From a muffler shop -- I can't find a 2.125 inlet to 2.5 outlet piece.
-A glasspack muffler, or some other free-flowing muffler.
http://summitracing.com/parts/imm-87522
-New single-prong iridium spark plugs (same reach and thread size as stock).
http://summitracing.com/parts/ngk-2669
-10mm spark plug wires.
http://summitracing.com/parts/dui-c9087rd
-A cold-air intake kit and better filter.
http://summitracing.com/parts/spe-9948

Should run me a fair amount, but I'll do it gradually... I think the fuel injectors will be the first upgrade, then the throttle body and cold-air intake/air filter kit... Then the exhaust system, then the ignition system.
When I'm done, it should be much more responsive as far as the throttle goes, right? I should also see (slightly) better fuel mileage too, shouldn't I?
After these mods will come larger but lighter wheels and tires, then disk brakes on all 4 wheels, then a 3-inch lift kit. But those things aren't as important to me, and they cost more, so I'll save them for later.

Right now I'm still waiting to get it tagged and insured, so I figured this is the time to make sure I'm headed in the right direction.

Anyway...