PDA

View Full Version : New Audio System Speaker Installation/Removal

JeepFreak
06-29-2013, 01:28 PM
So I've been thinking about replacing all of my stock stereo speakers with brand new ones in my '94 Cherokee Sport but the problem is...I have NEVER done this before! I don't even know what the specs are of the current speakers or what the new ones should be! My speakers sound terrible now since they are almost 20 years old so I want to replace them. Does anyone have any ideas on what brand of speakers to put in that are cheap but good quality? And how do I figure out the specs? I have speakers in the roof above the trunk floor that I want to also replace but I don't know how to remove those either. The stereo is brand new and isn't stock but the speakers need to be able to withstand some serious bass. Anyone got any ideas? Specs, brand, installation/removal? Thanks!

bluedragon436
06-29-2013, 01:37 PM
According to Crutchfield.com your speaker size should be a 5 1/4" speaker for both the front and the rear speakers... I know I was able to run 6.5" speakers in both of my stock locations even though everything said it was 5 1/4 size... I know I have installed 6.5" speakers in my friend's 95 XJ.. I have always been a fan of Pioneer and Kenwood speakers, and am currently running 3 way 6.5" speakers in my XJ.. Lately I have started looking at the Alpine speakers more, as they seem to sound better, and I have heard some that were setup on a system in a XJ with a small amp on them and they sounded really nice, so should be fine with a stock or aftermarket head unit in your XJ... It is really pretty easy to remove the old units and install new units.. if you go through Crutchfield, you can even pick up some adapters from them that will allow you to plug your new speakers into the old wiring harness, if you are not one for doing wiring in the Jeep itself...

JeepFreak
06-29-2013, 01:43 PM