PDA

View Full Version : High beam control.

triptych
04-28-2013, 03:45 PM
Ok here's one for all you electrics genius's!

I am a lazy driver...Here in Scotland most of my driving is on back country roads that are not lit. As the XJ has pretty bad lighting I drive with my high beams on most of the time. What I am trying to do is wire up a switch that i have mounted on my arm rest just beside the hand brake that allows me to kill the high beams when an on coming car approaches. Yeah....I don't want to move my arm the few inches it takes to kill them via the beam selector on the steering column....lazy I know;)

Here is the problem. you would think all I needed to do was tap into the wire that controls the high beam and run wire to my switch. I've done that and when I hit the kill switch it kills the high and low beam plunging me into complete darkness. As fun as that is, I'd like my low beams to stay on.

Can anyone think of a solution?

4.3LXJ
04-28-2013, 07:49 PM
Yes, it can be done with a general purpose relay. There are some numbers on them. Take power from the headlight switch directly to #30. 87A will go to the low beams and is the default. 87 will go to the brights. The remaining terminals operate the switch. Pick one for power from the switch and the other will go to ground

Mudderoy
04-28-2013, 09:21 PM
Ok here's one for all you electrics genius's!

I am a lazy driver...Here in Scotland most of my driving is on back country roads that are not lit. As the XJ has pretty bad lighting I drive with my high beams on most of the time. What I am trying to do is wire up a switch that i have mounted on my arm rest just beside the hand brake that allows me to kill the high beams when an on coming car approaches. Yeah....I don't want to move my arm the few inches it takes to kill them via the beam selector on the steering column....lazy I know;)