PDA

View Full Version : Hey new to the xj world have a few questions

Blackbetty98
04-04-2013, 11:16 PM
Hey guys new to the xj world :beer: I picked up 98 4.0 5speed xj. I have been driving it for a few months now. Last week I took the cat off (rattling) and put right I. It's place a thrush muffle. Now in my doing so I have no rear o2 sensor and ever since I put the muffler in the place of the cat I have noticed my mpg drop I can go throw 3/4 of a tank in about a day, my daily drive is about 70 miles round trip. I know that's ALOT of mile and I'm not going to get 20+ a mile but I know I should get more then what I'm getting.

I'm wanna know who is/has been in this same set up as me and what you did to help the problem out ??? I was thinking of o2 sims or drilling a hole on the outlet of the muffler and welding a bung to it, and putting 2 new o2 sensors in and seeing what happens. A lil more info there is no turn down or pipe to bring it out from under the jeep as of yet.. Any help is thankful..

bigjim350
04-04-2013, 11:31 PM
Placeing a o2 sensor in the muffler will still throw a code, since it will still be reading "dirty" air. I would buy a new cat and put it on. You can get a cat with a o2 sensor bung for less than $100

nickxj94
04-04-2013, 11:41 PM
Placeing a o2 sensor in the muffler will still throw a code, since it will still be reading "dirty" air. I would buy a new cat and put it on. You can get a cat with a o2 sensor bung for less than $100

Yeah X2 ^^^ the 97-01 needs the cat to regulate fuel mixture right and both or all four o2 sensors when equipped.

XJ Wheeler
04-05-2013, 12:14 AM
Welcome to xjtalk, the portal to Jeep awesomenessessessess!

http://youtu.be/RsjA5DtfW2A

Carves
04-05-2013, 05:33 AM
Guessing you have a CEL / MIL light, happening on the dash ??

Your year model needs two O2 sensors for the computer.

The rear (downstream) sensor needs a cat to provide comparison info against what the upstream sensor is "seeing".