PDA

View Full Version : Front axle reset

Me223656
03-13-2013, 03:04 PM
I just picked up my 01 xj last week. It had an encounter with a cement block to the front axle and bent and broke tie rods, control arm brackets and the T-case. I bought all new tie rod, drag link, trackbar, upper and lower control arms. My problem is all the brackets that the control arms hook to have been ripped away from the axle and mangled up under the xj. I am looking to grind all this away and start from scratch on setting the axle using fabricated brackets and adjustable lower arms. The rig has what looks to be a 4.5" lift and 31" tires. My question is where to start. I have everything taken apart in the garage and ready for re-assembly and fab work. What steps should i be taking to ensure a straight and solid ride when i am done? i am a fabricator/welder by trade but i have never gotten this extensive into a frontend. Any help is greatly apprectiated......

4.3LXJ
03-13-2013, 03:55 PM
I was going to suggest builder parts, but I think you have that covered. What you are looking for is a finished product that has a castor angle of about 5° toward the rear. I am sure you know how to use an angle gauge, but new smart phone apps are even better. Measure the angle on the top of the ball joint where it is flat. There is a grease fitting there but you can remove it or measure around it. This is the standard procedure when making custom axle swaps etc. which is almost what what you are doing, minus the new axle.

Me223656
03-15-2013, 03:23 PM
Now im thinking of putting in a long arm upgrade kit intead of repairing the short arm setup. Looking to get out cheap as possible. Any sugestions?

4.3LXJ
03-15-2013, 03:37 PM
Try Zone. They have some good kits and a good reputation

denverd1
03-15-2013, 04:02 PM