PDA

View Full Version : NSS problems

bcso290
02-28-2013, 01:10 AM
First off I would like to say that I am new to wheeling so be kind. The last couple of weeks I sometimes had to shift into neutral to get it to start. Yesterday Nothing! Today back to the neutral start.

My question is, can I install a rocker switch that engages the starter with the key in the run position. If so, how? I know that I need to run a hot wire from the positive side of the battery to one side of the switch but where do I run the other side? Not sure if this can even work but thought I would ask. I know alot of your are going to say "just take off the NSS and clean it" but I dont want to risk breaking it completly and having to be out the money for a new NSS.

I've been told to connect the B and C wire in the connector but have also read that this can cause problems as well. So, I dont really want to do this.

Any suggestions?

nickyg
02-28-2013, 01:42 AM
My problem with my NSS was my backup lights wouldn't come on.
I got a NSS from the junk yard for 4 bucks. took it apart, Cleaned it (I saw a write up some where) then installed it. It was real easy to do..
If I'm not mistaken. The NSS has someting to do with kicking your tranny onto overdrive. I don't think you want to bypass it.

cantab27
02-28-2013, 01:47 AM
http://www.xjtalk.com/showthread.php?t=13220

very easy to do...welcome to site ......

bcso290
02-28-2013, 03:45 AM
I diffently have this link bookmarked. Just looking for a backup plan. Gonna call some local tranny shops tomorrow and see if they have an old one lying around.

weasel
02-28-2013, 06:29 AM
my nss cannot be taken apart it is 3 prong but only 15 bucks new thank goodness but untill i got it fixed i did a redneckification got 2 pieces wire a toggle ad 2 aligator clips hooked them to starter and ran wire inside just turn key and flip of a switch and easy to unhook thats just my 2 cents

4.3LXJ
02-28-2013, 09:53 AM