PDA

View Full Version : Need help with spring ideas

kph03281983
01-26-2013, 09:49 AM
Hey guys im new to xj's im wanting to go the best and cheapest routes. I just got a 99 cherokee and want to lift it. Im wanting to know the best way to lift it with little money. I was wondering what leaf springs will match mine. My leaf springs are completely shot. I have heard of people putting front f150 springs in and silverado leaf springs in it. Please let me know the best way to do a lift with a little $ flow.
Thanks kevin

Mudderoy
01-26-2013, 10:05 AM
Hey guys im new to xj's im wanting to go the best and cheapest routes. I just got a 99 cherokee and want to lift it. Im wanting to know the best way to lift it with little money. I was wondering what leaf springs will match mine. My leaf springs are completely shot. I have heard of people putting front f150 springs in and silverado leaf springs in it. Please let me know the best way to do a lift with a little $ flow.
Thanks kevin

I'm sure you'll be reading more and better posts shortly, but I'll jump in with a quick, I believe the common thing to do is use a set of S10 springs, or perhaps they are the start of something everyone calls "bastard packs". Things I have heard are you'll get the lift, but they can be a bit rougher than a set of leaves that were made for the Cherokee.

Yep, I think you can lift your 99 pretty cheaply using the junk yard lift idea.

4.3LXJ
01-26-2013, 10:27 AM
On the front, don't use F150 springs, they are too stiff. Unless you like something that rides like an old semi truck. V8 Grand Cherokee coils with 2' spacers. Use the bottom three leaves from an S10 and the XJ main leaf

kph03281983
01-26-2013, 10:33 AM
How exactly do i do i use the s10 springs. Details???? Plz. I have been working on motorcycles and motors all my life just never messed with suspension and lifts.

4.3LXJ
01-26-2013, 10:36 AM