PDA

View Full Version : Project - 1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport

shelbybrowndog
01-14-2013, 05:00 PM
I just purchased a Red 1999 Cheep Cherokee Sport with 137k miles on it for cheap from my GFs parents. I knew there would be quite a lot of work to do, and I'm completely new to Jeeps. My brother has a sweet setup on his Wrangler, so I thought, what the heck... let me try this out and see if I can fix up a Cherokee and make it in to a sweet ride.

So... here's what needs to be done before I can do any mods:

1) The radiator is shot, I saw radiator fluid all over the ground after my first night with my new "project."
2) Obviously, with the radiator shot, and I presume the thermostat as well...I've got overheating issues.
3) The turn signals do NOT work at all, but the hazards do work. Strange thing is, the right front blinker and right rear tail lights are out, but work when the hazard is on....and the rear tail light works when the brake is engaged.
4) The passenger side window does not work...you can hear the motor running, but the window will not move.
5) The check engine light is on.
6) There is a ton of rust on the muffler, so I wonder if the O2 sensor is bad. I haven't been able to get under it because it's been raining (I don't have a garage and live in an apartment complex so I will have to do the work outside)...so I can't get under it yet to see how bad it is.
7) A/C is not working. Apparently, there is a hole in the hose for the A/C leaking free-on.
8) The interior is a trocious with the smell of wet dog, and dog hair all over. Custom jeep seats were put in, but unfortunately, the rear bench was torn to shreds by the dog.
9) There is rust on the wheels, not a good sign, but hopefully not another bad sign of what's underneath.

That's all I could think of that is wrong with it for now...keeping my fingers crossed because for the most part it looks pretty good and will be a fun beater car. I hope this forum will be a good venue to help me keep my project going.