PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading the battery cables

Mudderoy
12-06-2012, 10:21 AM
Recently I thought about upgrading my alternator from the stock 90 amp to the GC or Dodge truck 140 amp. Then I thought, why do this before replacing those thin battery cables?!?!!?

If you have upgraded your battery cables how about sharing what you did and how.

I've never done my own cables before. I've just swapped in parts, you know whole cables, and never on a Jeep.

Do they make over sized cables pre-made?

4.3LXJ
12-06-2012, 10:30 AM
Tony, you can get heavier cables. But finding them at a parts store might be hard due to having to search a database that is not meant to be searched that way. You can build your own however by getting the end pieces in a solderable form and using a propane torch to heat them and solder them. I did that with 0 gauge cable when I put my batteries in the rear of the rig.

Mudderoy
12-06-2012, 10:38 AM
Tony, you can get heavier cables. But finding them at a parts store might be hard due to having to search a database that is not meant to be searched that way. You can build your own however by getting the end pieces in a solderable form and using a propane torch to heat them and solder them. I did that with 0 gauge cable when I put my batteries in the rear of the rig.

How did you handle the connections on the alternator? I haven't looked at it recently but it seems it was some sort of OEM style special connector.

Where would I find 0 gauge wire? I don't know of any welding shops near by.

NW99XJ
12-06-2012, 10:58 AM
There's a guy thats been doing this for a number of years that makes pre-made, pre-terminated cables that will outlast the life of your Jeep....
Tailored specifically for the Cherokee's and has been trusted in the Jeep community for many years. The prices are a little high, but these are the last cables you will EVER have to buy, and they WILL make a difference.
http://www.kelleyswip.com/