PDA

View Full Version : Looking for an honest opinion(s)

XJNoob
10-23-2012, 05:36 PM
Hi everyone

I am not only new to this forum but new to having a Jeep XJ.

My original plan in getting a XJ was to buy a cheap one a fix it up from there, however that's not how it turned out.
I traded for one that has had a lot of work done to it.
The previous owner kept decent records so i could see a lot of what was done. However, since I am new to this I do not know what parts'brands are good. What is needed/missing/unecessary.
I got this so I can take myself and my girls camping in the Sierra's without any issues.

Here is a list of what I can find that was done to it:

Engine:
Stock 4.0L 6 cylinder
K&N Apollo air intake
Banks torque tube exhaust manifold
Rubicon Express bored out throttle body
Rusty’s off road throttle body spacer
Turbo City Hi flow thermostat housing
Radiator.com 3 row HD radiator
Clutch fan from a 96 grand Cherokee
Flowmaster 40 series exhaust with hi flow catalytic converter
Performance Distributors ignition with E3 plugs
136 amp alt
Jeepers Creepers battery cables
m.o.r.e. HD motor mounts

Trans:
Was rebuilt by Atlas trans in Sierra Vista, Az 16k miles ago
With HD kevlar bands and HD solenoids
Some kind of off road shift kit
HD trans cooler
B&M trans temp gauge (currently not working)

Drivetrain:
Rubicon Express front and rear double u joint driveshafts
Dana30 up front with 27 spline shafts, Sierra Gear 4.56:1 ratio Detroit tru trac locker
8.25 in the rear with 29 spline chromoly shafts, full Detroit locker Sierra Gear 4.56
Teraflex 2low kit in transfer case
HD slip yoke eliminator
Crane dif covers front and rear

Suspension and Steering:
PSC xj extreme duty off road steering box w/ oversized piston
PSC power steering pump
Rusty’s off road steering box brace
c-rok steering box plate
Rubicon Express 5.5” longarm with longer leaf springs
Boomerang shackles
RE gen2 sway bar disconnect
RE HD track bar and brace
RE extended bump stops