PDA

View Full Version : Crossed electrical? Please help

LostMNJeep
09-29-2012, 07:43 AM
Gents,

I've got a 2000 XJ Classic. Recently I took the dash a part to replace the AC evaporator (and then fix the rusted out floor pans), but here's what's going on now:

Power locks don't work. When I try to engage them the actuators sound like they want to work but nothing. ALSO the horn sounds and the rear wiper engages.

When I plug in my phone to the cig lighter or power outlet my gauges go dead, "no Bus" code pops up, "airbag" check engine lights come on, and the rear wiper engages.

When I try to use one of the map lights on the ceiling, it's dimmer than normal, and yes, you guessed it, the rear wiper engages.

I'm no mechanic and I'm no electrician, but I absolutely don't understand how by taking a part plastic trim from the dash and removing the center console that I have all these weird electrical issues now. I have searched and asked other forums and gotten no response. I'm tragically close to going to the stealership - which I really can't afford.

Thanks in advance!

Carves
09-29-2012, 08:57 AM
at least your rear wiper works well .. :D

Might be worth checking for a pinch/short in the harness ... or maybe a ground that didnt get tightened properly ??

LostMNJeep
09-29-2012, 09:58 AM
at least your rear wiper works well .. :D

Might be worth checking for a pinch/short in the harness ... or maybe a ground that didnt get tightened properly ??

Haha - yeah at least the rear window stays clean...

Not to sound like a total noob, but which harness would that be?

I'm sure I could've pulled a wire accidentally, but I'm not really sure where I should be looking exactly.

4.3LXJ
09-29-2012, 10:19 AM
I think it is a ground issue too. A bad ground will cause issues like that when electricity seeks a new way to go.

jdougn
09-29-2012, 11:28 AM