PDA

View Full Version : In need of info for my axle build

07Negative
08-12-2012, 10:51 AM
I scored fat last night. I picked up a Dana 44 from a 89 XJ for $200. I want to build it up. I've never built a differential before b/c I've been to scared of em for some reason.
I was wondering if there is any literature or manuals that I can read to get a understanding of a Dana 44 anatomy if you will. I've been using the search engine but I haven't found much yet.
The plan of attack is to take it apart. Clean it up and repaint. Alloy inners, Disk break conversion, 4.56 gears, still debating between which locker. I either stick to what I know, which is a Detroit. Or try out a E-Locker.

I've also got another HP Dana 30 which I'm doing the hybrid 30/44 with Reid's knuckles. But since the knuckles and a set of CTM U joints are a $1,000. I'm putting my money into the rear axle first.

4.3LXJ
08-12-2012, 11:01 AM
Nice score! We don't have any differential set up info on here. I have done them, but you need a way to press bearings on and off and measure backlash with a dial indicator on a magnetic base. But other than that, the mechanics are straight forward. To make it work for an XJ, you will need to do some welding. As far as anatomy, one of the best places to start is the exploded view of the front axle in the 4WD catalogue, which is free. The high pinion 30 has the exact same design as the 44, except for the pinion position. But they go together the same. As far as the high dollar U joints go, the ears on the shafts go first. For your use, which is mostly highway driving, I would go with the E locker over the Detroit. But having hubs helps that situation out.

07Negative
08-12-2012, 01:09 PM
I went to google pictures and found that exploded view. I've got it saved and I'm trying to get myself acclimated to parts list and verbage.