PDA

View Full Version : Well crap- Brakes

ArmyGuy45
08-10-2012, 06:24 AM
So I was rushed when doing my front bearing/hub replacement (still my fault for not checking). We had plans and the wife was upset that it took me so long to do the bearings that I rushed putting back on the front right side. I have no idea what the bracket is called that holds up the caliper but I striped out the threads on top bolt hole. Since I dont know the name of it its hard to find replacement part. I could drill it out and re-thread it but I have no experience doing that nor do I have the tools.

NOTE: This is not the pic from my Jeep, I just took it from the internet to show you the part that has the striped out thread.
http://i1161.photobucket.com/albums/q520/ArmyGuy1911/brakesoff.jpg

So the temp fix I did was thread in small strands of copper wire (to fill the gaps) between the thread on the bolt and snug it up. Its not as tight as I wish it to be but it doesnt fall out.:D

So help me out with part name, website to order from or should I just re-thread it? Cant increase the bolt size since it will not fit in the caliper. Also if I am going to tear down it all down to replace it, should I do the other side? Is there any seals, gaskets or anything else I should replace while I have it torn down?

4.3LXJ
08-10-2012, 06:31 AM
What you need for that, and it is an important thing, is a helicoil kit. It comes with a special tap and a little thing that looks like a spring. The tap is oversize and the spring is inserted in the new oversize threads and becomes the new threads. A common fix.

ArmyGuy45
08-10-2012, 07:06 AM
Which series would I need?

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dindustrial&field-keywords=HeliCoil+Thread+Repair+Kits

4.3LXJ
08-10-2012, 09:09 AM
I don't remember the thread count and size. But when you find out, (ask one of your mechanics on base) you get them by size and thread count.

bigjim350
08-10-2012, 11:15 PM