PDA

View Full Version : D30 front axle u joint replacement

jeepgldgr
08-09-2012, 10:29 AM
I'm getting ready to replace my U joints on the front of my 88 waggy it has the D 30 and was wondering if both the axles just slide out after disassembling or is there a retaining clip or something that has to be removed somewhere?
also any other tips for this procedure would be most appreciated as this is my first try at this and would hate to forget a bearing or seal replacement that should have could have been done while the axles were out.
Thanks.
Bill

xj4life2
08-09-2012, 10:43 AM
This should help:

Hub Bearing and Axle Shaft

NOTE: If the axle shaft and hub bearing are being removed in order to service another component, the axle shaft and hub bearing can be removed as an assembly.

REMOVAL

Raise and support the vehicle.
Remove the wheel and tire assembly.
Remove the brake caliper and rotor.
Remove ABS wheel speed sensor, if necessary.
Remove the cotter pin, nut retainer, and axle hub nut, if necessary.
Remove the hub to knuckle bolts.
Remove the hub from the steering knuckle and axle shaft, if necessary.
Remove hub bearing and axle shaft assembly, or axle shaft from axle. Avoid damaging the axle shaft oil seals in the axle housing.
Remove the brake rotor shield from the hub bearing or knuckle.
INSTALLATION

Thoroughly clean the axle shaft and apply a thin film of Mopar Wheel Bearing Grease, or equivalent, to the shaft splines, seal contact surface, and hub bore.
Install the brake rotor shield to the knuckle.
Install the hub bearing and axle shaft assembly, or axle shaft, into the housing and differential side gears. Avoid damaging the axle shaft oil seals in the axle housing.
Install the hub bearing, if necessary.
Install the hub to knuckle bolts and tighten to 102 Nm (75 ft. lbs.) torque.
Install the hub washer and nut, if necessary. Tighten the hub nut to 237 Nm (175 ft. lbs.) torque. Install the nut retainer and a new cotter pin.