PDA

View Full Version : Gauges

Dakom
07-13-2012, 10:26 PM
Hey guys I am new to jeeps and the forum but I just traded my dirtbike for a 88 xj 4WD 5 speed 4 door with 3-4 inch lift (i think its 3) and none of the gauges work they do how ever light up when i turn the head lights on but still no readings I am probly going with aftermarket sunpro gauges take a look tell me what you think I traded a 2007 baja x250 that was wrecked the bike was only 1000 bucks new from pep boys and i bought it from the owner for 300 I think I got the better part of the deal!

http://i1269.photobucket.com/albums/jj582/Dakom20/Jeep/IMG_0284.jpg

http://i1269.photobucket.com/albums/jj582/Dakom20/Jeep/IMG_0290.jpg

http://i1269.photobucket.com/albums/jj582/Dakom20/Jeep/IMG_0278.jpg

4.3LXJ
07-13-2012, 11:11 PM
We have a member with the same problem. There are two positive wires that feed power to the right and left side of the gauge cluster. If they don't have power, none of the gauges will work. So first thing, check the instrument fuse and see if it is good. Of course if you are dead set on aftermarket gauges, go for it.

Dakom
07-14-2012, 10:46 AM
yeah i tried that every thing seems good but i have already ran my tach, oil, and water temp

bigjim350
07-15-2012, 01:30 AM
If you ran a mech water temp, where did you install the temp probe? Can't find a place on mine.

Dakom
07-15-2012, 06:14 PM
well umm I dont know the name of it but its at the front of the motor on top there is a port with a sensor i removed the sensor and put the new mech probe in I will take a pic and post

Dakom
07-15-2012, 06:27 PM
Its located right where the blue sealant is
http://i1269.photobucket.com/albums/jj582/Dakom20/Jeep/photo7.jpg

http://i1269.photobucket.com/albums/jj582/Dakom20/Jeep/photo13.jpg

http://i1269.photobucket.com/albums/jj582/Dakom20/Jeep/photo14.jpg

4.3LXJ
07-15-2012, 06:52 PM