PDA

View Full Version : 1995 Cherokee Country- Cuts off

willpoot
05-04-2012, 02:03 PM
Hello, I have a 1995 Cherokee Country that will cut off while i'm driving, mainly happens when not accelerating. If I am accelerating when it tries to cut off, it just kinda jumps a little but will keep running. It always starts right back up. No engine light is on. Runs fine other than that. Cat is rattling some, thought it may be causing the problem but was told that wouldn't make it stall. Would like to hear what the experts have to say on this. Thank you for your help!

nickxj94
05-04-2012, 02:05 PM
sounds like the cps fixing to go out! (crank shaft position sensor).

willpoot
05-04-2012, 02:10 PM
how bad is that? As far repairing myself or get a tech?

nickxj94
05-04-2012, 02:17 PM
its a $100.00 sensor on the driver side top of the bell housing its easy to change my 94 did the same thing all 4 times mine went out im a pro at replacing them, drop the front driveshaft from the pinon tape your ujoints up and it take a 11mm deep well socket and some extionsions to get the two bolts out but dont drop them in the hole in the bell housing its a pain fishing them out with a magnet..if you get one go to dodge dealer near you and get a good one the lifers that oreillys sells are crap!

xj4life2
05-04-2012, 02:31 PM
I don't think CPS , not if it cuts out while driving. More than likely its a short in the fuel pump or fuel pump relay taking a dump on ya.It also could very well be the o2 sensor confusing the computer , had a Bronco II do that to me. Normal symtoms of a CPS is the veh will crank but not start.I stongly suggest hard wireing the CPS and eliminateing the connector (it actually loses 2mv from one side to the other) never had to replace another one after I did this. Also check your main ground wire to be sure its connected and tight. Good Luck

Mudderoy
05-04-2012, 02:32 PM