PDA

View Full Version : Front Axle U-Joint question

Brasscatz
04-15-2012, 01:48 PM
I'm thinking about attempting to replace my axle u-joints before I run out of weekend to do it. I've never done u-joints on front axles before, only on driveshafts and that was when I worked at a shop and had access to equipment. I don't have a vise or really other proper "u-joint" tools, so does anybody have any suggestions? I do have several types of pulley pullers, would they work?

Also.... do I need to drain my front diff? I've never pulled out axle shafts, so I don't know the proper procedure.

Thanks for the suggestions!

prcjeep
04-15-2012, 02:52 PM
I'm thinking about attempting to replace my axle u-joints before I run out of weekend to do it. I've never done u-joints on front axles before, only on driveshafts and that was when I worked at a shop and had access to equipment. I don't have a vise or really other proper "u-joint" tools, so does anybody have any suggestions? I do have several types of pulley pullers, would they work?

Also.... do I need to drain my front diff? I've never pulled out axle shafts, so I don't know the proper procedure.

If you have changed the front u-joint on the rear drice shaft before then I think the procedure is close to the same since all caps are closed in... I changed that driveshaft u-joint before with basic crap I had in the back of my jeep. It was a PITA but I got it done in a parking lot in about an hour and a half.
I may be incorrect about the simalarity of these u-joints. Hopefully someone can share more about what exactly the procedure is front the axle u-joints.
This next weekend I'll be out of town but I may have time during the week or next weekend if you need help.

Brasscatz
04-15-2012, 02:56 PM
Thanks Patrick, I'm actually going to take a hack at it here in the next hour or so. The vibes are getting pretty bad and I'd hate to cause some real damage by driving it more this week.