PDA

View Full Version : New Member - Upgrade or Trade?

RickBunn
03-11-2012, 12:44 PM
Hi All,
I have a 1989 Cherokee with 124K on it and I enjoy the vehicle, but it needs a lot of work if I'm going to keep it.
It runs well, but it's showing it's age and the NTB guys put 2 size over tires on it (they told me that there would be no problems, but...)
The paint is in bad shape, but so far no rust.
I use the jeep to support my amateur radio operations as the Emergency Cooridinator for Alexandria VA. This is a volunteer type thing and we don't get a great deal of bad weather, but the XJ is equipped with HF/VHF/UHF radios to support portable operations.
I have been looking for a good late model XJ but have not found anything I would trust. So I think my options are to find a good used late model or overhaul the 89.
Any ideas would be helpful.
I'm an engineer but NOT a mechanic.
Regards
RickBunn
N4ASX

Mudderoy
03-11-2012, 02:35 PM
Hi All,
I have a 1989 Cherokee with 124K on it and I enjoy the vehicle, but it needs a lot of work if I'm going to keep it.
It runs well, but it's showing it's age and the NTB guys put 2 size over tires on it (they told me that there would be no problems, but...)
The paint is in bad shape, but so far no rust.
I use the jeep to support my amateur radio operations as the Emergency Cooridinator for Alexandria VA. This is a volunteer type thing and we don't get a great deal of bad weather, but the XJ is equipped with HF/VHF/UHF radios to support portable operations.
I have been looking for a good late model XJ but have not found anything I would trust. So I think my options are to find a good used late model or overhaul the 89.
Any ideas would be helpful.
I'm an engineer but NOT a mechanic.
Regards
RickBunn
N4ASX

I've been really happy with my 1998. We bought it new. A few years ago I decided I was going to keep it. At 175k the transmission was just rebuilt and my fellow admin and I are collecting parts for an engine build and swap.